The Mitford Society Annual

Image

One month ago I decided to put this annual together. I’m amazed at the amount of people who have contributed pieces all with a common theme: Mitfordiana. As I discovered, getting the contributions was the easy part! Editing and formatting…what a nightmare. It took about 4 days, a few hours per day (often until 4am in the morning) to format this but I think it looks rather well! The dimensions of the book are quite large, 8.5×11 and it is 160 pages…all with content, none of those deceiving blank pages at the front and back! The cost of producing such an annual was never far from my mind, I initially wanted to keep the book around the size of The Mitford Girls’ Guide to Life but unfortunately that made it a print run of over 300 pages…and with each page the cost was greater. Those who have used CreateSpace will be aware of the pricing sanctions etc. I want to be upfront and let you know that on each book I will earn about ¬£1.09 royalty which is going towards producing an official website for The Mitford Society. I want to create an online record for archives etc because, as you will know if you subscribe to the mailing list, I have quite a lot of treasures which Facebook does little justice to. So there we have it! This is the pilot annual and it has been a learning curve. Now I must dash back to my secret project which has a 6 month deadline. I can’t wait to share the news with you all!

Click here for the annual.

Leave a Reply

