The Mitford Society and Trolling

Dear readers,

It has come to my attention that an audio clip of ‘me’ condoning Hitler and other racist remarks has been posted on a popular blog. I know which blog it is and I have listened to the clip. I would like to emphasise that I am in no way racist, sectarian, antisemitic or anti-anything. I come from a multicultural background and I am part Jewish – this should not even matter but I feel the need to explain myself. An individual who shall remain nameless but is very much known to me has been harassing me online for several years now, beginning with an online correspondence when I was a minor. I won’t bore you with the details except to say their activities have crossed a line and have become illegal. Whether or not the audio contains my real voice is not the issue – the issue is privacy and defamation of character given The Mitford Society has become quite well known publicly. As this is being formally investigated and has become a legal matter, I ask that you do not entertain this person who has many guises and seems to use Tumblr as their platform. I ask that you report this person and/or you inform me if they make an effort to contact you. The individual’s local police department has been notified and they are taking it very seriously as it has compromised my safety and has broken the law.

I respect your online safety and the integrity of this group has, I hope, always remained intact. The Mitford Society is a place to discuss the girls themselves, for good or for bad, and to share information about that era. It has also become a great platform for promoting authors, books and for celebrating our projects. I hope this individual realises the error of their ways and stops with their threatening behaviour. The Mitford Society will not bow down to cyber bullies and I hope it will become a fun place again.

Thank you once again for your generous support. If you have any questions or would like further information please don’t hesitate to contact me: mitfordsociety@gmail.com

Lyndsy

One thought on “The Mitford Society and Trolling

  1. It is unfortunate that there are many very nasty people taking advantage of the internet. One tries to ignore them recognising the flaws in their characters that makes them do the things which they do. Chin up ! Stiff upper lip ! and press on regardless !

Leave a Reply

